• Posted Feb 28, 2022

We are excited to announce seven mountain bike races that will be part of the 2022 Iowa Mountain Bike Championship Series.

The Iowa Mountain Bike Championship Series (IMBCS) is dedicated to providing a series of mountain bike races in Iowa with different levels of competition for Iowans of all ages and abilities. This means that everyone can participate: from the seasoned, experienced rider to the first-time rider to those riders who only compete for fun and socialization. There are several categories from expert to novice to juniors.

BIKEIOWA and the BIKEIOWA Racing Team will be hosting the series for the 2022 season by promoting each race, the series, collecting and tabulating points and awarding winners at the end of the series. The Iowa Mountain Bike Championship Series was launched in 2002 as a way to promote Iowa mountain biking and here we are 20 years later still promoting the sport we love. We are excited to get the 2022 series underway!

A new link was created to house the series information right on This link all you need to remember!

View the IMBCS Technical Guide which include all the categories, points calculations, race requirements and more about the IMBCS Series.

2022 IMBCS Race Schedule

These are the mountain bike races that are part of the 2022 series.

  1. Sylvan Island Stampede - Sunday, April 10 (FORC) - Moline, IL
  2. ScoCoPa Frenzy - Sunday, May 15 (FORC) - Park View
  3. Sugar Cubed Marathon - Saturday, May 21 (ICORR) - Solon *
  4. "THE ROCK" at Whiterock - Saturday June 11th - (BIKEIOWA) - Coon Rapids *
  5. Ewing Extravaganza - Saturday, July 16 (CITA) - Des Moines *
  6. George Wyth Mountain Bike Race - Saturday, August 13 (CVAST) - Waterloo
  7. Sugar Bottom Scramble - Sunday, August 21 (ICORR) - Solon

* includes a Marathon Category Race


Please refer to the IMBCS Facebook group and the IMBCS page on BIKEIOWA for all Races and up-to-date information. It is a living document that will include the most recent information as it becomes available.

IMBCS Benefits

The IMBCS series not only awards the racers with the most points at the end of the season, but it also promotes youth racing, Iowa's non-profit trail organizations and our world-class dirt trails. The more you race, the more series points you receive. See Tech Guide for details.

Local Trail Advocacy Groups: Each race is organized by an Iowa non-profit trail organization. These are the groups that build and maintain your local trails. IMBCS encourages you to join your local trail advocacy group to help with their membership drive, provide donations, and support the building and maintaining of our trails in Iowa. Please consider joining one of our trail organizations here in Iowa or making a donation: CITA, LAMBA, FORC, CVAST, ICORR.

Series winners for each category will receive free entry into races the following season. The number of free entries will be equal to the number of races entered by the series winner the previous season (e.g. if they entered 6 races the previous season they will receive free entry to 6 races the following season). Awards are subject to change based on fundraising and sponsor donations.

Kids and Juniors RACE FOR FREE - subject to change based on fundraising and sponsor donations.

Social Media

Follow along on social media.

Questions? First Timer?

See the list of contacts on the IMBCS page on BIKEIOWA. We'll be glad to help point you in the right direction or help your get started.

if you have a question regarding a specific race, click on that race and contact the individual race director listed in the contacts section.



No comments have posted.

Leave a Comment

You must be signed in to leave a comment.